Cornbread Waffles and “I Have a Dream”

Here in America (because thanks to my “de-lurking post”, I’ve found out I have a number of international readers), we have a holiday in mid January honoring civil rights activist, Martin Luther King Jr. Schools are off, no mail or banks, and its tacky to have “MLK sale”, but retailers are open. Anyhow, King gave a famous speech on the Lincoln Memorial steps in Washington D.C. in 1963. So I thought to write my own little “I have a dream speech”. King’s speech was moving and powerful, mine is far from that. In no ways am I attempting to disrespect King’s speech, so don’t compare and contrast.

I say to you today, my readers, so even though we face the difficulties of today and tomorrow, I still have a dream.
I have a dream that whole foods will no longer rape my bank account.
I have a dream that Snooki and Justin Beiber will learn how to read before they publish books.
I have a dream that this nation will rise up against our fear of carbs!
I have a dream that there will be a channel free of commercials and laden with episode of Dexter, Nurse Jackie, The Office, and Curb Your Enthusiasm.
I have a dream that there will be a farmers market every day of the week
I have a dream the only thing worth weighing in our world will be avocados bought from that farmers market.
I have a dream that “Pajama Jeans” will just go away.
I have a dream that we will no longer try to obsess over how many calories we burned and only exercise if its fun (and if sleeping is fun, it counts!).
I have a dream James Franco will sweep me up, marry me, and be totally cool with me not wanting to have kids.
I have a dream Julia Child will come back to life, and her and I will gorge on butter with lobster on the side.
I have a dream that awkward situations will be nonexistent.
I have a dream that we will all be a little more “normal” about our food.
I have a dream that ice cream will show on my butt instead of on my stomach.
I have a dream that I wont care about where the ice cream will show!
I have a dream I will meet all the wonderful readers and bloggers who have supported me.
I have a dream that we will not be judged what we eat or dont eat, that vegans, carnivores, locavores and any other “vores” will unite, and bloggers not be judged by their traffic,  but by the content of their character (and blog).

I have a dream today.

What’s your dream?? (you can be totally serious or cynical, obviously, you know I do both)

You know what you should dream about? These cornbread waffles that’s what!

To make this dream a reality, you will need:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour (for a gluten free version, use masa aka corn flour)
  • 1 cup corn meal (aka polenta or grits)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup sugar or fake sugar of choice
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cup buttermilk or any milk you prefer
  • 1 egg

Mix your flour, corn meal, baking powder, salt, and baking soda in a bowl. Set aside. Beat the egg with the milk and sugar until its all incorporated. Gradually add in the dry ingredients. Grease a hot waffle iron and plop in about 1/2 a cup of the batter. Let it cook for about 3-4 min on the iron (all waffle iron have different instructions, so just do it according to your waffle maker’s instructions). Take it out with a fork and smear some honey butter on that sucker. Or do what I did and using it as a chili eating utensil.

19 thoughts on “Cornbread Waffles and “I Have a Dream”

  1. I have a dream that this week will be awesome and that culnary school isn’t scary.
    I have a dream that I will one day be okay with spending 90 bucks on yoga pants for myself.
    I have a dream that I will one day be able to eat cool treats from bakeries without ever calming myself down before and/or after.
    I have a adream that my blog friends lived near me.

    • I wont lie about culinary school not being scary. But its the scary things in life that make life exciting! Pants that let you do downward dog and grocery shop without looking like a hobo is priceless! Bakeries are nothing more than calming meccas. A loaf of handmade bread just screams “relax, enjoy the labor that went into my carby goodness”. and just move to LA!

  2. I have a dream that there would be a Foodie World and I’m the President of it.

    I have a dream that I would somehow manage to get to Culver City each week without needing to walk and getting mugged.

    I have a dream that I would also manage to find the perfect, most thrilling scoops for both my journalism reporting classes.

    I have a dream that I would survive this semester with no scrapes, cuts, and suicide.

    Can you tell I’m a bit stressed out about school right now….(though, still enjoying it).

    • I have a dream you’ll win the lottery or something and won’t need to finish school! You could just run that foodie world and appoint me chief of staff or something that sounds important!

  3. ditto the james franco- except just think of how cute your spawn would be haha :)
    It was fun meeting up with you yesterday! Those waffles look yummy!

  4. Corn bread waffles are absolutely genius. Your waffle recipes have made me seriously consider a waffle maker. Isn’t there a panini press/waffle maker in one somewhere out there?

    p.s. I tagged you with the stylish blogger award!

  5. I have a dream that I will be able to teleport to California to hang out with all the cool people, get “discovered” for some talent I didn’t know I had and be able to move there, doing yoga, stalking every farmer’s market, writing and enjoying the sun with you cool people.

    I also hope to survive my work trip later this week so I can be done traveling for awhile.

    I also have a dream that Joel McHale and Daniel Tosh will magically teleport to me whenever I summons them, and just as quickly go away when they get annoying.

    All animals will have loving homes.

    Trader Joes will come to my city and I will win the lottery to support my organic habit.

  6. I have a lot of serious dreams, but I’ll try to keep this light.

    I have a dream that the kitchen will be clean next time I go in.
    I have a dream that the snow will stop but it will stay nice and cold.
    I have a dream that I’m eating your cornbread waffles.

  7. Wait, Justin Beiber has a book published? Isn’t that child something like 12 years old?
    I have a dream that media will promote someone who can actually act or sing. Scratch that I have a dream that the media would promote someone who has actually something to say and offer to the society. And I have a dream that I would stop getting so pissed with things like that because it would make my life so much easier!

  8. Mmmmm. Cornbread!! I love anything with corn, really. Waffles, pancakes, muffins, the vegetable in it’s true and natural form. All of it!

    “I have a dream that there will be a channel free of commercials and laden with episode of Dexter, Nurse Jackie, The Office, and Curb Your Enthusiasm” <– Here in Canada we call that HBO. Is it not commercial free over there?

  9. i haveee a dream that someday christian bale will realize that long hair does no good for him and that someday we’ll be able to shop budget free together at the big WF

Leave a Reply

