Chocolate Banana Almond Butter Crepes!

I hate to start a post on a sad note, but I’ve been missing my mother lately. For those that don’t know me, my mother died of breast cancer when I was thirteen. One of my fondest memories of her was enjoying my very first crepe with her in paris. I got mine with nutella and she had hers with some grand mariner. Yes, this made her tipsy! She was a funny woman I tell ya.

Anyhow…..I thought about making my own crepe recipe minus the white flour. Heres what I used for a single sering

-about 1 tablespoon almond butter

-1/2 cup egg whites

1/8tsp baking powder

-splash of banana extract

-about 2 tsp cocoa powder

-1 tsp agave, splenda, stevia, or sweetener of choice (everyone is so picky about their sweetener)

beat with a mixer and put on a well greased pan. Wait for bubbles to form (about two min) and flip. Fill with cottage cheese, ricotta,  mascarpone cheese, greek yogurt, or berries! I garnished with some toasted almonds and a strawberry. Of course, it would go great with some grand marnier as well!

before the "crepe" hits the pan

didnt turn out too gorgeous my first flip

tada! rolled up and resting beside it's trust counter part

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Banana Almond Butter Crepes!

  1. That crepe looks awesome! I’ve attempted to make crepes in the past but failed miserably. I know your mother is looking down and admiring that crepe!

  2. hmmm, I think the secret is to get a good surface. Well greased on a not to run down pan. I bought a good non-stick one from bed, bath and beyond (or as I like to call it, just “Bed n’ Bath”. Sticky crepes turn into big messes indeed!

Leave a Reply

